Road Trip!

Part 1

A few weekends ago Phin and I fled our little town and headed north. Ithaca, NY was to be our home for the next 3 nights. We were invited up to see my cousin graduate from High School (which is hard for me to believe)

The night before we left, Phineas definitely knew something was going on as I was packing. Let me just say that I can’t believe all the stuff I packed for him; travel bowls, food, first aid kit, 2 towels, dog shampoo, travel crate, bedding, leashes, vet papers and probably more. Then I packed a little for me.

The next day we ended up sleeping in more than anticipated so we left later in the morning to beat weekday traffic around Philadelphia. Phin hopped in the back seat and was buckled in with his Kurgo swivel tether to keep him secure and out of my way while driving. If I had more time I would  have tried to make my own tether. I’m sure I could have saved some money. I am very happy with the Kurgo one so far. It is sturdy and does the job. Phineas settled in pretty quickly for the ride and we were off.

image

We drove towards Philly and then up the Northeast extension to NY state.  Surprisingly we only stopped once. Phineas was a great travel mate who slept most of the time. 🙂

A few hours later we arrived safe and sound. We were greeted by my cousins
new rescue dog, Scooter. She was pretty vocal  at first, but settled down after a walk with Phineas. Next he met Bitsy who was another relatives 3 month old puppy. Then the 2 cats Chip and Chester.

This is going to be a very interesting weekend!

Stay tuned for more!

How do you travel with your dog? Any tips?

Leave a Reply

