How it all began…

Hi! My name is Allison. I’m Phins “hooman”. I thought I would give a little background today regarding how Phin and I came to be together.

It all started back in the fall of 2014.  I was in the mood to look at dogs available for adoption. That is when I saw Rosco.

image

Rosco is a Boston Terrier mix who is deaf. As a child, our family dog was deaf, so Rosco’s special need wasn’t totally new to me. My housing situation wasn’t totally ideal to me, though. I currently rent a small apartment and ideally wanted to own a house before I got a dog. Rosco was such a handsome guy though…so I caved in.

My first step was to ask my landlord for permission. They live next door and have young children so it was important to me to get their permission and then find the right dog. A text message was sent explaining the type and size of dog I would look for and also some things I would try to make sure he doesn’t do on or to the property. Then I waited…..just over a week. Of course a positive response was what I received. YAY! On to the next step!

I didn’t jump right into applying for Rosco. I double checked some costs of doggie ownership. I knew I needed a crate, food and some supplies to get started. I also checked some vet costs and also boarding and doggie daycare costs. Then the longer than expected application was emailed and my fingers were crossed. Let me just add that applying for a rescue dog is no easy task. I can understand where the rescues are coming from though. They want to make sure their animals get the very best furever home the first time.

So I waited for a week or so to hear back from Rosco’s rescue. Didn’t hear a thing so I sent an email. No response so I moved on. There are sooooooooo many dogs that need homes.

For those who are looking for a new furry friend, there are so many places to look online. I searched on petfinder.com, adoptapet.com, rescueme.org and also looked at 2 local shelters. I wish I could have adopted any size dog, but the weight limit was 30 pounds. I also wanted an easy to care for short haired dog. That limited my choices a bit. I’ve always liked Boston Terriers so they were looked at first.

I applied for a few more dogs…Karma, Nate, Jerry and Rillo.

image

There was also a little white dog that caught my eye. I wasn’t sure about him so I continued searching. After missing out on Jerry and Nate (I was approved but others applied before me) I thought about that little white dog. I looked for his profile, but couldn’t find it. I assumed he was adopted. A few days later I did find him listed again! This poor guy had a rough start in life.

image
This is how Phineas looked when he was rescued. He was about 5 weeks old.

Phineas was the cute little white puppy! He was dumped at a gas station with mange, fleas and sunburn. He hung out by the ice machine for 2 days. Finally a wonderful person took him to the vet and started him on the road to recovery! He was very appreciative, wagging his little tail and giving kisses.

image
These are the pictures Blackdogs Rescue had up when he was ready for adoption

After thinking about this little guy, I filled out his application and emailed it to Black Dogs Rescue. About a week or so later I got a response…he will be waiting for me at the next meet and greet event! YAY!

That day couldn’t come soon enough. When it did I was both excited and nervous. I hoped I would like him and he like me. After a 2 hour drive I would find out.

Luckily a friend come along that day. I was too nervous to deal with pictures, so I’m glad she took some.
image

Once we got to the meet and greet we patiently waited for him to emerge. There were 10 puppies being adopted that day so it was a slow process. Finally it was his turn to get out of the truck. He was so excited and wiggly! (I would be too after the long drive from Kentucky!) He licked me as we put on his harness and leash. I signed the papers, paid the fee and off to home we went!

And that, my friends, is how I rescued Phin. Or did he rescue me?

image
Phineas resting after a long adoption day 🙂
Leave a Reply

